in

Joel Meyerowitz – The Master Of Street Photography


Joel Meyerowitz (b. 1938) was born in New York City and began taking photographs in 1962. Although he has always seen himself as a street photographer in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank (he is the co-author of the standard work on the genre, Bystander: A History of Street Photography, 1994) he transformed the mode with his pioneering use of color. As an early advocate of color photography (mid-60’s), Meyerowitz was instrumental in changing the attitude toward the use of color photography from one of resistance to nearly universal acceptance.

Meyerowitz was the only photographer to be given unimpeded access to Ground Zero in the wake of 9/11. The images he captured have formed the foundation of a major national archive, and an exhibition of selected images has travelled to more than 200 cities in 60 countries.

More: Joel Meyerowitz












































































The post Joel Meyerowitz – The Master Of Street Photography appeared first on Design You Trust.



Source link

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0

Comments

comments

“Through Fire And Water”: The Superb Concept Artworks Of Ross Tran

Designer Builds Fully-Functional Hasselblad Camera Entirely From LEGO